This year’s 2019 Western Political Science Association (WPSA) conference will be hosted in San Diego, California. We have a dedicated mini-conference within the conference that focuses on APA politics on April 19, 2019 from 8:00 am through 5:00 pm. If you are in the area and would like to attend, please feel welcome to join us (note WPSA registration requirements at https://www.wpsanet.org/meeting/). It should be a wonderful set of panels regarding the latest on APA politics research.

Section 31  –  Miniconference: Asian Pacific American Politics

Panel 31. 01 – Race and Political Representation in the Asian American Community
Date: Friday, April 19, 2019, 8:00 – 9:45 AM
Chairs: Geron, Kim, kim.geron@csueastbay.edu, CSU East Bay
Papers: But Where Are You Really From? Stereotyping and Political Engagement among Asian Americans.
Leung, Vivien, vivienleung@ucla.edu, University of California, Los Angeles
Understanding Substantive Representation by the Womanists among Asian Pacific American Elected Officials
Lien, Pei-te, plien@polsci.ucsb.edu, University of California Santa Barbara
Filler, Nicole, nfiller@highline.edu, Highline College
Inventing the Terms of Exclusion: Immigration Policy and Racialization in the 19th Century
Aoki, Andrew, aoki@augsburg.edu, Augsburg University
Discussant(s): Le, Loan, lkle@thinkiggi.com, Institute for Good Government and Inclusion

Panel 31. 02 – Political Learning and Affirmative Action Policies for Asian Americans
Date: Friday, April 19, 2019, 10:00 – 11:45 AM
Chair: Le, Loan, lkle@thinkiggi.com, Institute for Good Government and Inclusion
Paper: Examing Asian American Attitude toward Affirmative Action
Liu, Baodong, baodong.liu@utah.edu, University of Utah
From the Politics of Pan-ethnic Solidarity to Ethnic Particularism in Asian American Politics: Examining the Rise of Chinese American Conservatism
Song, Daeun, desong@uci.edu, University of California, Irvine
Sexual Harassment of Asian American Females on College Campuses
Le, Loan, lkle@thinkiggi.com, Institute for Good Government and Inclusion
Discussant(s): Lien, Pei-te, plien@polsci.ucsb.edu, University of California Santa Barbara
Panel 31. 04 – Asian Americans and the Politics of Space
Date: Friday, April 19, 2019, 1:15 – 3:00 PM
Chair: Filler, Nicole, nfiller@highline.edu, Highline College
Paper(s): Neighborhood Political Composition and Political Participation Among Asian Americans
Chan, Nathan, nkchan@uci.edu, University of California, Irvine
Beyond Koreatown: Asian Americans After the Los Angeles Riots
Le, Loan, lkle@thinkiggi.com, Institute for Good Government and Inclusion
The Eviction Machine, Tenant Mobilization, and Growing the Grassroots in Manhattan”s Chinatown
Wong, Diane, dw465@cornell.edu, Cornell University
Discussant(s): Filler, Nicole, nfiller@highline.edu, Highline College
Panel 31. 05 – Roundtable: Lessons in Teaching and Learning:
Asian American Politics in 2018
Date: Friday, April 19, 2019, 3:15 – 5:00 PM
Chair(s): Le, Loan, lkle@thinkiggi.com, Institute for Good Government and Inclusion

Discussant(s):

Aoki, Andrew, aoki@augsburg.edu, Augsburg University
Filler, Nicole, nfiller@highline.edu, Highline College
Junn, Jane, junn@usc.edu, University of Southern California
Takeda, Oki, otakeda@sipeb.aoyama.ac.jp, Aoyama Gakuin University
   
Share this...
Tweet about this on Twitter
Twitter
Email this to someone
email
Print this page
Print

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *